In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

In this modern society, health and fitness are always among the most crucial aspects of life which should be carefully taken into consideration. However, despite the significant advancements in technology and medicine, the average weight of people have a tendency to rise and their health, as a result, gets worse than it used to be in the past. This essay will outline some reasons for this and propose some possible solutions.

To begin with, the modern lifestyle definitely has something to do with the increasing popularity of obesity. In simpler terms, people are likely to spend more hours sitting in an office and doing paperwork rather than trying some energetic and activities. As a consequence, they get lazier and lazier and never try to change their daily habits. Moreover, on the grounds that the standards of living keep getting higher everyday, everyone has to work extremely hard to pay for their needs and literally has no time for other things, including exercises. In some highly developed countries like Japan, workers may even work from early in the morning till late night to meet the high demands of the society. Therefore, they are too tired to do anything but working.

Turning to the solutions, one of the things we can do to stop this problem is to create a better work-life balance for everyone. This means employers and companies shouldn't put too much pressure on their workers, so that after working hours they will have their own leisure time to exercise more and try new hobbies. This will not only improve their fitness but also lead to a better mental health. Additionally, we should encourage citizens to take part in sports activities by building more facilities and upgrading already-existing infrastructure. Ideally, every neighbourhood should has its own sports centre, or at least some equipment like tennis court, running machines or walking lanes. If this solution were to be properly carried out, the levels of health and fitness would be greatly improved.

To sum up, changes in the modern world would be the main reason responsible for the higher average weight of people these days, but there are many ways by which we can stop this and better the situation.