Some countries have an ever-increasing proportion of the population who are aged 15 and younger. what is your opinion of the current and future effects it may have in those countries?

The right proportion of the population of all age group is an important aspect of the social, economic and overall growth of a country. It is true that the number of the younger population has increased significant that has a detrimental effect on the society, workforce and the country. From my perspective, I believe this is overall a negative trend despite one single benefit it may bring about.

There is no doubt that this tendency has a positive effect on the economic factor and job facilities of a country. If the country has great economic stability and can create plenty of job opportunities in the future, the under-aged population now would become the de facto to the economy in the future and that would enable the country to develop rapidly. The country will have a huge number of worker and professionals in the future and they would be able to increase the GDP of this country. They can support their community, become better members of the society through positive competition and can contribute to the family by sharing the workload.

Regardless of the advantage mentioned above, I believe this is a negative trend. Firstly, increasing competition in school is obvious. Since the younger generation is mostly school goer, the parent would have to suffer to get their children admitted to a good school. Many poor parents would have forced to send their children to work and earn and this will increase child labor in many developing and undeveloped countries. The disproportion of population age distribution in such countries will lead them to the scarcity of skilled labor and other professional. Since those children are not earning members, that would negatively affect the overall economy of the country. On the other hand, if the country fails to ensure jobs and business opportunity when those children will become adults, the outcome would be catastrophic. The unemployment and crime rate would surely increase and that would negatively affect society.

In conclusion, all the existing reasons provide a concrete foundation that the proclivity of young age population may result in a wide range of adverse effects, and thus, is a negative issue in today’s society.