Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that an increase in the sales of prevalent consumer merchandises is originated from advertising rather than our actual demands. There are good arguments both for and against this view, but I believe this depends on different reasons.

I completely concur with the idea that advertising leads to higher consumption of some ubiquitous consumer goods. The first prominent justification is that advertising has manipulated consumer behavior. It is acknowledged that advertisers have been striving to persuade people that purchasing a commodity will make them more delighted. Furthermore, the purpose of advertising is not only altering behaviors but also causing humans to live in a consumer culture, which means that as soon as advertising occurred, people inclined to follow the latest trend and associate certain brands with higher status. Following latest trendy outfit is a prime example for consumerism which is stimulated by advertising. Consequently, the growing sales of some popular consumer products stem partly from the manipulation of advertisers.

However, I believe that several common consumer goods are also driven by the true needs of the community. First, the health aspect of consumer goods, especially healthy foods, play a more pivotal role in our awareness. It is due to the fact that the occurrence of foodborne diseases has raised the awareness of food safety. The whole food, for instance, is one of the agricultural products gaining popularity by real demands. Second, there are increasing sales of high-tech products which are indispensable for end-users without much advertising nowadays. As a matter of fact, if electronic devices had not appeared, humans would have failed to deal with a ton of tasks in work as well as daily activities as in today’s society.

In conclusion, while reasons can be given to justify that advertising is the reason for rising the sales of common consumer goods rather than the real demands of people, I believe this is not an accurate statement under any circumstances.