In some countries it is now illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether it should be illegal to stop one from applying specific job based on his age. When some countries are now enforcing regulation deterring age discrimination, it is becoming increasingly recognised by the public on its benefits. This essay will assert that such legislation on ensuring citizen would not be rejected regarding his age is a positive development.

To begin with, instead of age, individual merits should be the key for judging one's productivity. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly there is no direct connection between age and working performance. In fact, by reading the job description, candidates are often checked against the required abilities, qualifications and work experience. Secondly, today's technology can narrow the disparity between juniors and seniors. For instance, a senior programmer can enroll an online course for mastering the cutting-edge technology, while the use of the Internet pave the way for the juniors to acquire their necessary qualifications. Consistent in this line of thinking is that there would be no intrinsic distinction among various age groups if employees are willing to devote themselves on pursuing a career.

Another factor that cannot be ignored is the necessity for incorporating both juniors and seniors in a working environment. This is largely because the contributions from each of them are irreplaceable. Compared to those who have just entered a company, seniors can share their working experience based on their own sophistication, which in turn, to a considerable extent, unwind themselves from heavy workload. Furthermore, instead of getting weary of repetitive work, senior officer can often be inspired by the young blood, resulting in an increase in overall productivity.

In conclusion, given the latest development of our society, prohibiting employers from rejecting job application based on applicant's age is a positive development. It is predicted that the government will provide more training on further education in the foreseeable future.