In some countries, it is usual for young people who graduate from high school to spend a year working or travelling before going to university.What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this?

Nowadays, spending a year working or travelling is becoming more and more common. In this essay, the pros and cons of taking a year off are mentioned below.

On the one hand, having a gap year can make students unfamiliar with the studying habits. For example, if you do not practice the guitar for a long time, your fingers will not be as flexible as they used to be, thus your guitar skills will notably go down. Studying works similarly, therefore, the knowledge you have gained might be ignored if you do not use it over a year. In addition, your ability to concentrate on your studies will definitely be decreased. Furthermore, a gap year might be very expensive. Although this depends on where you go and what you do, overall, the price for a gap year program is about 20,000 to 30,000 dollars. This amount of money is as much as the annual fee on campus.

On the other hand, spending a year working or travelling can give students a great deal of working experience. Employers have the tendency to be more impressed with young people with a sense of working, thus this is absolutely helpful for them to get a good job. Secondly, having a gap year might be the only chance for young people to visit different places. Graduates will move on to their career simultaneously, and in such a busy working environment, it is merely possible to meet new people, learn different cultures, and visit different heritages.

To sum up, I think a gap year is advantageous for its foreseeable benefits.