In some countries, parents expect children to spend a long time studying in and after school and have less free time. Do you think it has positive or negative effects on children and the society that they live in?

The expectation from parents of longer studying time that students should have in and after school become ubiquitous all over the world. From my perspective, this trend is harmful to children and society although some people argue that it drives the world to become knowledge-based.

The expanding learning hours have damaged the next generation’s comprehensive thrive as it deprives the time children spend on social activities. In the modern society where academic pressure from schools and parents overwhelms children, they have to devote a considerable amount of time and effort to studying in school and at home. They have no time to promote their social ability, which they need to learn from interacting and playing with peers in their spare time, in order to equip themselves with personal skills that are essential in their adulthood. Without the opportunities to mingle with friends, young children may become alienated and difficult to work with. In this case, it is hard for the young generation to horn well-rounded personal qualities.

It is argued that society will develop faster with generations who are excel in academe and full of knowledge. However, the reality may be the opposite situation that the social development will be slowed as citizens are unsatisfied with their lives. People would be unhappy or even have resentment if their parents ask them to spend their precious childhood calculating complex mathematical problems or memorizing famous poems. Those who hold grudges are reluctant to work hard to contribute to the community when they grow up and are released from strict parental supervision. This is detrimental to the advancement of a country if the younger generations lack positive motivation.

In conclusion, the upbringing of the children and the prosperity of society would be damaged when they are forced to increase the already unbearably long time to focus on study.