In some countries people’s weight has significantly increased while their levels of health have decreased. What do you think may be the causes of this problem and what solutions can you suggest solving them?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that in many countries, people tend to get more weight and their health problems are going to increase. There are several causes for this tendency, some measures need to be implemented to tackle this problem.

There are two primary reasons why people are going to get heavier and their health is turning bad. One reason is that in modern life, people often have fast food as their meal instead of eating healthy foods. For instance, the United Kingdom, a developed country, has estimated that 30% children in their country got obesity due to these children usually take junk foods every day. Another reason is that with the development of technology, people are becoming lazier and not often having outdoor activities. Most of the people in rich countries prefer to use a car to travel around the city in lieu of walking or spend their whole day watching television rather than playing sports. Therefore this passive lifestyle is one of the most reasons for heart and respiratory diseases.

Some measures could be adopted in order to encourage people to stop this problem. Firstly, the government should publish new policies to reduce the harmful effects of junk foods. In China, the authorities required junk food companies decreasing the amount of sugar in their soft drinks and applied higher tax level for those companies who do not want to follow this policy. Secondly, healthy lifestyle needs to be promoted by traditional and technological media. Telecomunity companies should create more programs which can show their audience the benefits of playing sports and what is the importance of having a good health.

In conclusion, after identifying the causes, there are several solutions available which can be taken to solve this problem.