In some countries at secondary or high school, there may be two streams of study: academic or vocational.

What are the advantages for students and society of putting students into two streams at the age of fifteen?

In some countries, een-year-old school students are o ered the choice of academic or vocational training. In this essay, I shall outline the reasons for adopting this two-stream system, and suggest its advantages.

As economies become more complex and mo specialised, worke need a high degree of competence. Countries whe there is an emphasis on vocational training hope to imp ve their economic competitiveness with a young skilled wor orce. Those that have chosen to train prospective employees while still at school may have an even sharper competitive edge. In my view, an educa-

tion system with a purely academic curriculum suits about 40% of students. Admittedly, people who go on to university generally

and employment on g duration not in their eld, and successful post-graduates a almost invariably o e d highly paid jobs. However obtaining a degree takes time and dedication. For people who do not wish to do this, or who do not have the ability, they are far less likely to and work on leaving school where academic study has been the only option, particularly their marks and se -esteem a low. A fortunate few do gain employment, but more commonly, even in the developed world, the majority of young school leavers are faced with unemployment - a scourge to society and a cause of distress to individuals. Therefor , countries like

Germany have decided that all school students should be placed in either an academic or a vocational st amfrom een. From an individual's pe ective, being a plumbe for example, does not only mean that d inage functions well, but that the plumber belongs to an organisation of t despeople and is part of a respected t dition. Starting this t ining at the age of fteen ensures that an adolescent has a head start with regard to jobs as well as a clear focus and sense of personal worth.

I firmly believe there needs to be an alternative curriculum to the academic at secondary ; otherwise, on leaving school, too many young people are adrift , and specialised industries lack a skilled workforce.