In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

While I’ve grown up, my parents often had said to me, ‘You can fulfill whatever you do if you do your best.’ This message had aroused me to try more when I was about to give up something. Having said that, It is true that this cheering mention could even give a burden to children.

First, this message has a big impact on children, especially when they are depressed. They would feel the inability from what they’d try to succeed. At that moment, if some parents said to their child, ‘Don’t give up! You can achieve anything if you try hard enough.’, this child may get will to try one more time. When they really achieved the goal that they wanted to reach, then they would get confidence. The more these experiences accumulate to them, the more they can overcome their fear. Therefore, children can build up the power of challenge.

On the contrary, this message can arouse counter-effect. When parents let the children in the field where they’re not only talented enough but also they don’t have interest, then children would lose their confidence. In childhood, rewarding is as important as challenging. Thus, it would be better to focus on the part in which they’re talented.

In education, every expert says that encouragement is so important to children. It could work on children who give up something easily. Sometimes, they should fight and they have to push their opinion when they think they’re totally right. Meanwhile, this encouragement must not be too demanding to them too much. Especially, children could feel too much pressure when they have to compete with someone. Children should learn when they give up or how to accept their loss. We can’t always get what we want, even if we try enough.