In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In several cultures, kids are usually taught to put a great deal of effort to get any achievements. In my opinion, this belief appears to have two sides benefits and drawbacks in particular circumstances.

To begin with, I believe that the thought is beneficial to children for some reasons. First, it can act as an encouragement for kids to become less reliant on other people for what they want as they know. Trying hard themselves is likely to help them become independent people which will be beneficial for them in the future. In addition, keep their best performance for their targets plays an important role in boosting their mental strength which will have positive effects on their career as they do not give up easily. For example, those who want to work as athletes may not feel frustrated under a high-pressure environment if they were well-prepared with willpower at an early age.

Nevertheless, I strongly argue that the lesson also has its downsides. Being told to try hard on everything, kids may hurt themselves when putting excessive effort beyond their limit. For instance, those who want to experience extreme sports can put themselves in danger if they try too hard regardless of the fact that they are not fit enough. Moreover, kids may undergo negative feelings if they try their best but do not succeed. Failing may lead to a sense of blaming themselves and even isolation, which can affect negatively for their health.

In conclusion, although teaching kids to try hard on everything to get great achievements is advantageous for them in long term, I believe that the belief also has disadvantageous.