In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Most of the time, some nations advise their offspring that achieving everything is the direct result of working hard. Children become competitive and patient from receiving this message, but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account.

Firstly, one benefit of children motivating to be industrious is that they become determined to compete with their peers. Once offspring find diligence as a value, they tend to compete with others in different situations. Take school curriculum in which children will perform better, for example. Secondly, hearing this opinion that working hard is a need for reaching goals causes children to have patience. Confronting with obstacles in their lives, the patient children consider them steps towards success and do not accept the failure easily. This admirable attitude could positively affect children’s personal and social life.

On the other hand, when children get a strong belief that everything is accessible by consistent working, they may sacrifice their physical health to achieve their objectives. Children may make ambitious goals and set unreal plans which are out of their capability and harm their physical health. For instance, some children who want to be a sports star may injure themselves by doing strenuous exercises. Another possible issue is that unstoppable trying for getting purposes could also damage children’s mental health. They possibly prioritize achieving their goals above the other valuable things such as their family and friends. It seems that ignoring the relationships and friendships would make them isolated and puts their mental well-being in jeopardy.

In conclusion, while encouraging children to work hard to achieve their objectives can benefit them, it can also lead to some potential physical and mental risks to their health.