Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Evidence shows that many people put the old family members in care homes after a while and do not take care of them at their own homes. Although there may be some benefits involved in this trend, the drawbacks accruing to elders are by no means negligible.

There may be some advantages for looking after elders in some caring centers on the plus side. To begin with, the residents of these places often have sufficient physical condition which can be caused by the presence of trained staff, experienced doctors and medical facilities available 24 hours a day. Furthermore, some older adults find living in these places, which are personalized professionally, more convenient. For example, it is considered to design these buildings without stairs and ramps, facilitating the seniors’ mobility.

However, the downside cannot be ignored. Whereas peer’s companion reduces the seniors’ isolation to some extent, the sense of loneliness can be intensified by less frequent visiting of their relatives, resulting in depression and a significant risk of immune system weaknesses and even death. Moreover, living in such a maintenance center is much costly, and if inhabitants’ budget or retirement salaries are not high, they will be deprived of other pleasures such as journeys. Also, in a much worse condition, their families might be under pressure because of the caring charges.

In conclusion, looking after older people in a nursing home can be both rewarding and problematic. While it might help them to gain better medical attention and, they probably suffer from lack of a family life and high cost of living in these houses at the same time.