Nowadays many mothers take care of the family and don't go out to work. Some people believe they should be given salaries by the government.

Do you agree or disagree?

Mothers play a vital role in a child's development. This fact sometimes leads to a mother's sacrificing their job career for their child's well-being. Some mention that governments should provide mothers with regular payments, and others oppose to this idea. I believe the best approach could be providing support during a specific period.

No one can deny the fact that a mother's spending quality time with their offspring is of great importance. It would be more crucial when a child is at their early age. They argue that newborns who grow up with absent-mothers may suffer lasting mental problems in the future since loads of their needs were not understood and met. These psychological problems include fear of losing someone, anxiety and depression. These damages will be inevitable if a mother decides to follow her career, and if not, her position will be filled in by a person who does not get pregnant. The latter, in turn, would make it difficult to find a proper job opportunity after several years when their child become more independent. That's why women should be paid during pregnancy and a couple of years later.

However, some opine that mothers should not be paid because of limited financial resources. They think salary payments would put a lot of financial pressure on the government because of the growing number of childbirth, and since this money should be funded from public taxes, it may cause dissatisfaction among those who are not a stakeholder. Nevertheless, they forget to consider that a person with numerous psychological disorders –rooted in an unhealthy upbringing- can compel the government to spend more money. They optimistically require psychological treatments or in the worst-case scenario they would commit a crime like murder or defraud which leads to life imprisonment, and they all make the government squander a lot of money. Having said that, women should start to work a couple of years later once their child grow enough to learn self-care skills. It is when a separation between a mother and her child would not be harmful.

To conclude, governments should encourage mothers to take care of their newborns and support them in the situation where they sacrifice their work life. They also should support them to find a proper job later. Furthermore, a healthier society in the future would compensate the money allocated to mothers.