In some cultures, the old age is more valued, while in some cultures the youth is more valued.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

It is true that in some communities the elder people are more respected, whereas in others the youngsters are valued in a greater way. This essay will explore both sides of the argument and will explain how both generations are important to build a proper society.

To begin with, in some regions, old people are deemed as paramount for the preservation of the local culture. This is because elders are capable to transfer their knowledge and experience to younger generations. Besides being able to acquire a better education, young people can take advantage of the previous mistakes done by elders and solve them straightforwardly. As a result, communities often consider elder people to be extremely important to enhance young individuals education and hence, elders are retributed with a plethora of benefits. To illustrate this, in Brazil, individuals over 70 obtain free access to transport and great discounts in supermarkets.

On the other hand, young generations comprise the workforce of the future. Young people are more valued in jobs due to their capacity of hardworking and because they are more likely to work for the long run. In contrast, older people fatigue more frequently and their work capabilities are lower than younger. As a consequence, some nations like South Africa provides job opportunities only for people from 20 to 50 years old and restrict working opportunities to elder people. However, I believe that elders do not have to be scrapped out society due to the fact that everything that we see in the world is created by older generations.

To conclude, although some cultures value more one generation than other, and regardless of elders lower capacity to work than youngers, every single community should value and respect either old and young generations owing to the fact that both contribute for the sake of society.