Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others.

To what extent is this style of management effective?

Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

Some companies have a policy that is giving extra money as a reward for people whose exceptional contribution to the company. Some people think that this practice might be positive to employees, but some believe that it can be some negative impacts on employees. In my mind, I agree that giving extra money as a reward is an excellent method to increase the excitement of people at work. However, it is also causing some disadvantages for people.

It is like a coin has two sides; this style of management has both negative side and positive side. It is a fact that people want others to acknowledge their efforts. Hence, regarding the positive side, the reward can make people think that their bosses acknowledge their efforts. Hence, they will work harder to earn more extra money reward, and the environment is a competitive one. However, regarding the negative side, if a person has tried to earn the reward for a long time, but that person still does not have any acknowledge from bosses, that person might be lost the career interest, which, thus, impact negative effect a business where that person is working at in the long term.

If managers can make their employees think that their company is their home, they will consume their energy to make their home better and more wonderful than other houses. It is clear that no people want to have a smaller house than their friends. Hence, employees will consume their time and their efforts in making the business better. Moreover, it will become a friendly competitive environment if managers have a piece of excellent knowledge and a variety of management skills.

To sum up, I believe that giving extra money as a reward is a wonderful way to make a competitive environment. However, in the long term, it causes some negative effects on businesses. Therefore, bosses should make their companies as the second home for their employees instead. In the long run, it will be favorable.