Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent decades, owing to cut throat competition, being multilingual has become the need of today’s global world. Nowadays, children are forced to learn a foreign language at younger ages. It is advocated that learning a second language at primary school brings more benefits than at secondary school, which has become a hot topic among parents. This essay elaborates both advantages and disadvantages before reaching to empirical conclusion.

On one hand, learning a foreign language at primary school provides numerous benefits to children. First of all, ease of learning a second language in earlier years. To enumerate, at the primary school, there is no stress of voluminous curriculum and time can be spared time for boosting student’s efficiency of grasping a foreign language, while at secondary school, numerous disciplines, such as physics and biology stress and distract learners from language study. Secondly, new language becomes a common language. Small children are not deeply affected by their mother language and culture, with little knowledge of this world and surroundings they easily inculcate new language. In addition, children have better grasping power at this stage, so it is the best time to shape outlooks and develop language ability.

On the paradoxical side, language learning at an early age has some drawbacks too. One of them which cannot be given ‘Nelson’s eye’ is confusion faced while learning different languages simultaneously. In other words, children struggle in proper usage of words and probably mix both languages in formal speaking and writing, resulting in criticism from other people. Consequently, they fail to learn both languages well. Furthermore, learning a foreign language at such a small age diminishes the cultural identity which is related to language study.

In the light of these facts on can conclude that the advantages of learning a second language at primary school outweigh its negative sides. Children are gifted with outstanding language abilities in their early years, so they should make optimal use of their talents at the primary schools. Although, sometimes they may be confronted with confusions or difficulties in the process of learning, but it can be avoided by good guidance from teachers and parents.