Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning a foreign language, is widely believed by experts, brings more beneficial impacts while in primary school instead of secondary school. Both advantages and disadvantages will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, there are several reasons for people to trust that foreign language should be learned at primary school. Obviously, being exposed to a new language soon is very important. Because children are really in the dynamic age, they are eagerly in the progress of exploring the world and it is easy for them to absorb new knowlegde. In other words, the later the kids learn, the harder for them to master. Moreover, the learning method of kids is impressivelt special. Unlike adults, who prefer theorical learning first than practical learning to avoid failure, kids are not afraid about failure, they go straight to practicing by mimicing others even though they do not understand what they say. Whenever a mistake is made, they correct. In fact, there are thousands of mistakes corrected, as they are young and have lots of time to do that. Therefore, this is the precious time for kids to master a new language.

On the other hand, hidden drawbacks are inevitable. The biggest problem is that kids are supposed to having good time at their age with family and friends. The current curriculum in primary school occupies an enough quantity of time for kids to have playing time. If we add another subject, a foreign language, having fun will be not available. It is true that none of us wants our children grow up with a full-time studying childhood. Furthermore, not all of them will use only this language, some will stay and work at their country and no chance to use any second language, some will prefer another language depending on their circumstances and abandon the one they leanred. It seems no harmful to know an extra language, but in fact, it costs them a childhood to learn. Thus, it is no need to learn a new language so soon.

In conclusion, personally I believe that the merits are still overwhelming the drawbacks.