Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Almost any day of the week we can look at a newspaper and read articles discussing the need to learn a foreign language at school. There are several points of view on this matter. The first claims that foreign language classes should start at primary school due to the fact that at the early age it is easy to learn. An alternative point regards these classes at primary school as harmful and considers secondary school as the best option for them.

On the one hand, it is obvious that it is better to start studying foreign languages as early as it is possible. It does not matter whether you like it or not you have to recognize the fact that to get deep knowledge and comprehension of any language children should start to learn it at primary school. During language classes children obtain crucial experience which can not be replaced with something else totally.

However, this attitude may cause a lot of concerns among people who believe that foreign languages should be learned only at secondary school. It can be argued that at primary school children have to focus on academic classes such as maths and physics. But it is necessary to take into account all the circumstances of each individual case.

From my point of view, the former opinion makes sense definitely, as it follows from my own experience, for I am a father and I was a student myself. In any way, an attitude to this issue always depends on a particular person’s character and his or her personal background.