Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweighs its disadvantages?

Traditionally, children have begun studying foreign languages at secondary school, however introducing them earlier, such as at primary school, is recommended by some educationists. Some individual schools and education authorities have adopted this policy with both pros and cons.

First of all, in the term of merits of learning a foreign language, it is claimed that as soon as a child to get a hang with a second language as better for her or him. Children’s brains are still programmed to acquire their mother language, and unlike adults, they are not distracted by many complex social problems. Furthermore, at the primary schools, pupils do not need to deal with heavy timetables on academic subjects like mathematics, chemistry or physics as in the secondary school so that they can spend more time on language learning. Besides, their command of the language in the late life will benefit from this early exposure when learning other languages. They may also gain a better understanding of other cultures thanks to their foreign language knowledge.

There are, however, some disadvantages. For example, children at primary schools may get confused by learning both their mother tongue and a foreign language. They may not be sure whether some words are appropriately used in the native language or the second language. Consequently, they can study neither the mother language nor the foreign one thoroughly. Also, primary schools teachers are generalists, and they may lack the necessary skills to teach children carefully. Also, if the primary language teaching is not standardized, secondary schools could be faced with a variety of levels of different languages within their intake. However, these issues can be handled if the classes in the secondary schools are divided according to the second language.

To sum up, although there are some confusion and difficulties in the learning languages process, the advantages of learning a second language at primary schools outweigh its harmful effects. Young children’s innate should be harnessed as soon as possible to study a foreign language.