Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today's society.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether the use of advertising skills is beneficial to our society or not. In spite of the boosting effect of sales figures, the impediments begot by commercials on protecting environment is now increasingly recognised by the public. This essay will discuss both views and use the examples from Hong Kong to demonstrate points.

To begin with, commercials that are shown on various media is intuitively perceived as a key of managing a business. The central reason behind this stems from the fact that the features of a product can be effectively promulgated, which then boosts the sales. In fact, the majority of manufacturers in Hong Kong purchase the prime time of TV channels for hosting their advertisement. Moreover, the colour and vibrancy of commercials, to a considerable extent, embellish our cities. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that the employment of advertising skill is likely to foster societal development.

Although there is a case for advertisement benefiting the thriving of both business and society, its detriment effect on waste production cannot be neglected. This is largely because the images that are shown on these commercials are often more palatable and overstated, which in turn lure customers to purchase goods that are deemed redundant to them. For instance, the Consumer Council established that there has been a surge in lodging complaints about misleading content in advertisement on TV over the past decades. Consistent with this line of thinking, the waste that originate from the purchase of unwanted products would have significantly diminished if the connected commercials were prohibited. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that the manipulation of advertising skills tends to weaken the effort spent on environmental protection.

In conclusion, the existence of commercials has a vitally important role to play in societal growth and business expansion, yet its harm outweigh its benefits regarding the far-reaching drawback on aggravating waste pollution problems. Given the increasing awareness on environmental protection, it is predicted that the use of advertising skills will be restricted in the foreseeable future.