Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some organizations that the employees should be dressed well, while others believe the quality of the work done by the employee is of greater importance. In my opinion, the profession determines whether dressing well should be given more importance or the quality of the work.

On one hand, the way an employee is dressed is considered to be a crucial factor in the organization. Being dressed smartly gives the employee confidence in the work and provides a professional look. For example, in the profession of marketing where the employee has to present the product in front of the client or a consumer, being dressed professionally is of the utmost importance. Humans tend to show more trust in the other person when he or she is smartly dressed. Sloppy dressing can lead to the client calling off the deal or not even listening to the presentation.

On the other hand, some organizations prefer the quality of work to hold value rather than the appearance of the employee. For any organization to grow, the work done by the employees is the critical factor rather than the appearance. The consumers or the public do not see how the employers look but see the product of the company and create a mental image of the company.

Finally, in my opinion, it is completely dependent on the profession to decide whether to give higher importance to the quality of the work or the dress code. For example, in the professions such as Law, marketing, etc. it is very important to look smart and professional as they directly have to deal with the judge, clients, consumers, etc. Whereas in the case of an IT company, the software built by the organization is visible to the public and not the employees. In this case, the quality of the product which is directly proportional to the quality of the work done by the employee is of greater importance.

In conclusion, there is not a single correct view on whether to give more importance to work or the dress code. It should be based on the profession rather than generalizing it.