A Nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until the enter college

Education should be available to all and there should not be any discrimination on the basis of caste, religion, gender, social status, etc. This is a very important statement and should be implemented everywhere around the world for the betterment of the global society. The prompt makes a statement about the national curriculum and the compulsion for students to study it until they enter college. This is not a good idea because of two reasons.

First of all, the aforementioned "national curriculum" is a mere pastiche of all the subjects. Due to this, there is a lot of ground to cover in a very short time (only 1 academic year) which makes it difficult for the student to understand everything.

For example, there are five subjects namely Mathematics, Science, History, Geography, and Politics. These are just a few of a lot of subjects which the student actually studies. Now, the student faces the pressure of studying all of them and also acing in the subjects to match his or her parents' expectations. This hodgepodge makes the student confounded in a lot of ways.

Secondly, a student may not be liking a subject but he or she is forced to study it due to the curriculum. There is no freedom of choosing your subjects which can actually benefit the student in getting admits to colleges and even after college to make a great life. When a student is forced to study a particular subject which lies outside his or her liking, it feels like a huge burden on the student and it might end up worsening other subjects in which the student is actually interested. For example, a student does not like Mathematics but he is forced to study it which might include some very difficult topics like trigonometry, calculus, etc. Say, this student is interested in studying History which does not need any more math knowledge than simple addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division. Now the student is already feeling the burden of maths and not being able to perform well or even understand the subject, that particular student is not able to do well in History. This is only impacting the student in a negative way. The college which he is interested in applying to has some cut off and due to Mathematics, the student is not able to get marks above cut off. Ultimately, the student needs to compromise the college or maybe even History and learn something else for a better life, which may mean that the student is not completely happy.

In conclusion, making a student study a defined "national curriculum" is not a great idea, instead, there should be choices given to students and an committee should be set up to handle this aspect. The goal of education should not be burdening the student, instead should be a companion for a better life