A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until the enter college.

Education is one of the most imperative factors for the development and property of society. In the present world, most developed countries have higher education ratios. Although not every country follows the same educational curriculum all over the world. The above prompt sets about that a nation should expedite the same national curriculum before entering college. While, I concede that the same national curriculum should be implemented all over the nation, in my opinion, I mostly disagree with the above prompt for two reasons.

To begin, implementing the same curriculum may hamper the talents of the nation. Every student is not good at everything, each individual is precocious in various fields. Implementing the same curriculum may be baleful for their dreams, hopes, happiness, or most probably for their mental health. For instance, a student, who does not like math but likes to play piano and wants to be a great artist like Felix Mendelssohn in the future. If the curriculum does not focus too much on music, then the student’s talent may be wasted. Even if it is not the case, happiness and mental satisfaction are pivotal factors for a student to improve his performance. Forcing something, that a student hastes, may have pernicious effects on him. He will be hopeless and most probably renounce his dreams before they begin. Thus, having the same curriculum in schools is not much of a good idea, because of that many talents of the country will be lost and there will be a significant increase of mentally depressed people which may inhibit the nation’s progress.

Furthermore, the same curriculum may hamper the preferred career choice of a person. To develop some skills, special training needs to be begun at a very early age and if one can not afford to start the training after completing school, it will be too late to pursue the career. For example, football is a sport, for which special trains should begin at a very early age. At the time of college, it will be too late to pursue the dream. Many football players, like Christian Ronaldo, officially started playing football around the age of 13-14. If a curriculum does not have the options for choosing football, then, it will be insidious for the student’s career and dreams. The above example illustrates that under the same curriculum all over the nation, every student will not get the same opportunity to prosper and improve in other words rigidity of some curricula hamper the right of choice of some students’ which may have devastating effects.

However, facilitating implying the same curriculum throughout the nation may have some beneficial effects; every student all over the country will have equal exposure. For example, not all schools all over India have better education systems and consummate teachers due to funding or communication problems. Most of the students of these schools do not get enough exposures to compete with the students of highly reputed schools. Having the same curriculum may reduce this problem to a certain extent. This example shows that having the same curriculum may give equal exposure to every student in the country.

Despite these reasons national curriculum does have its merits such as the promotion of national harmony in a peaceful state, the level playing field for all students, etc, but such advantages are overshadowed by the potential disadvantages which are much more severe in nature. So a common curriculum is not advised for a nation rather certain common elements in the curriculum is more suitable.