Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Answer - In a competitive world, anyone has to face severe competition in every field. Everyone wants to transcend each other. IT is the basic human nature, that from the prehistoric period humans wanted to rise above everything. But in the present day by doing so most people forget the main purpose of education, learning. The above prompt argues that competition for high grades seriously damages the quality of education. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the argument for three reasons.

To begin with, every student at all level of education is trying to get better marks, which impair the main point of education. We can not blame students completely for their behavior. In the present day because of the social stigma, that those who get better marks are more capable than others, students are focussing on how to get better marks rather than learning. Getting better marks and learning a subject is a completely different matter. For instance, a student might get 90 percent on a math test but he may not have the concepts or detailed knowledge of the subject, on the other hand, a student, who gets 70% on the test, may have a better understanding of the topic. Learning is a time-consuming process, a student who gets 70 percent, may not have the time to complete all the syllabus before the exam but the knowledge he gained is concrete and will help him in the latter future. Learning 4 topics with proper knowledge is better than getting good marks by studying 8 topics with vague knowledge. In the recent competitive world, most the students forget about the basic idea of education that, requires knowledge to prosper in the future.

Furthermore, students, who only focus on getting good grades, do so at their own peril. In other words, marks can not be used in every place in the future. For instance, decent grades with concrete knowledge are far better than excellent grades with no knowledge. For example, maybe a student got 90 percent throughout his graduate course in computer engineering and a student got 77 percent throughout the same course, that does not mean that the student, who got 90 percent is better than the student, who got 70 percent. Perhaps, the student, who got 90 percent read-only for getting good marks and does not acquire any advanced knowledge other than his syllabus or did not focus on implementation, but the student, though who got 70 percent actually learn the topics carefully and earned advanced knowledge of the topics outside his syllabus. In the future, the student who got 70 percent may have better chances to land a good job in some famous IT farms, like Facebook or Google. The above example illustrates that getting good grades may not be effective in the long run, but having knowledge will help any student to improve his work efficiency in any field he chooses. A recent survey, conducted by major IT industries conclude that they prefer employees, who are innovative and productive, not who, transcend the others in grades.

Lastly, in the developed modern education system, where productivity is the main concern, good grades imply creativity and innovativeness. being a good student does not necessarily mean he will be creative. Obtaining good marks is not the same as acquiring knowledge. Most famous people, like Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg did not even complete their graduate studies but are still founders of most of the most famous IT companies. This example illustrates that doing good does means implies creativity. Honing creativity or developing the necessary tools for creative thinking is not dependent on good marks. In a recent survey of all the major universities in the country, they stand that they will not admit the students completely on the basis of marks, but they will take exams, where a student’s knowledge will be tested.

Of course, some argue that good grades may help to get a decent job in near future. Is not it the main concern of getting an education that dining good in the future? Good grades may help a student to get a decent job but creativity or knowledge will help him to improve his work efficiency which will be effective in the near future.