Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As we all know that truth is still the truth, even if, no one believes it and false is still false even if everyone believes it. That being said, in a present-day where everything is available in hand's reach people seem to forget the value of truth and appreciate more the appealing contents even though sometimes they do it unbeknown. The above sets about in the contemporary world people tend to appreciate the compelling lie over the accepting harsh reality. While, I concede that most people accentuate appealing images, in my opinion, I mostly agree with the above prompt for two reasons.

To begin with, the People often make appealing promises even though they know that they will not keep those promises in the future. For example, in a democratic society, we choose our leader through an election. Most of the politicians make sham promises before the election but when the election is over they never intended to fulfil the promise in the future. People are also to blame. They emphasize people, who makes appealing promises over the one, whose promises are related to reality. In a recent election, a politician made a promise that in his reign smoking marijuana will be legalized in every town and people take it as an attractive initiative without having a second thought about the pernicious effects in the future. The above example illustrates that in recent days, people are often more conspicuous about the good parts of a plan without thinking about the other parts. If people accept the dazzling matter without thinking about the reality will do so at their peril.

Furthermore, the reality is often disappointing. In the present day, because of technological advancement, everything is in our hands reach, and people often lose sight of reality. For instance, people often come to know about many people through social media, such as Instagram, Facebook, etc. Sometimes they came to know about their problem-free life from social media but do not take any afford to know the real truth. They often forget that people over the social media are still normal human beings and they have predicaments in their life too. As no one ever has a problem-free life. They believe everything they see on the social media. Most of the people, especially teenagers want to enjoin the illicit lifestyle and as result fall into a massive depression. If teenagers continue to emphasize the apocryphal lifestyles, without knowing the real truth, then they will be vulnerable to many mental issues.

However, sometimes reality is often too harsh for the people. In that case, exposing reality may not be a good idea. For example, in 2019 corona outbreak killed over 1 million people in India but the government kept the death toll hidden from the public. Many news channels propagated that the condition was under control and the number of death were 500000 to reduce panic among the people. The above example illustrates that sometimes people have to lie in order to reduce the damage. If people had come to know the real situation, they might have panicked and took things into their own hands, which might worsen the situation.

Despite these reasons, the truth will always prevail no matter how harsh it is and we have to accept the harsh reality in order to grow and prosper. Though accepting an appealing image is sometimes less pernicious but the advantages are overshadowed by the potential disadvantages which are more severe. So accepting compelling lies is not advisable rather accepting harsh reality and facing reality undauntedly is more needed.