Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

More and more companies these days are approaching to the trend of casual dress code to focus more on the productivity rather than the rules. While I agree that dressing should not be seen in relation to work output, I still stand on that smart work-wear is essential for some professions.

On the one hand, casual work-wear is aimed to make employees more relaxed and to make a friendly working environment. Thereby, creativity and productivity could be enhanced. Google and Facebook, the world's leading companies in technology sector, are great examples for this trend. Google has been well-known for its laid-back corporate culture in which its employees are allowed to wear what they find comfortable with such as jeans, t-shirt, sport shoes, etc. And Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook CEO, famously works in a hoodie.

On the other hand, formal dress code obviously contributes to build trustworthiness, professionalism, confidence for some occupations as lawyers, bankers, teachers and so on. For instance, customers who do business with someone well-dressed would certainly feel more respected from their partners and gain a trust that their business would be going well. In addition, smart attire at workplaces like uniforms also serves practical purposes like distinction between customers and restaurant staff, between patients and doctors and nurses, or between passengers and flight crew; uniforms serves safety purposes as well, for example, construction workers.

In conclusion, I support the trend toward relaxed dress code at workplaces since it can make workers feel at ease in which their creativity could be encouraged but I do not see it as appropriate to all occupations.