Some parents and teachers think that children s behavior be strictly controlled While some think that children should be free to behave Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is believed by many parents and educators that the way kids behave should be tightly controlled, while there are others who are of the view that this restriction is unnecessary and they should be given the freedom to do whatever they want. I find it more logical to endorse the former view, the reasons for which will be enumerated in this essay after evaluating both the views.

On the one hand, allowing little ones to roam freely without any supervision is not a practical approach. If their behaviour is strictly monitored problems such as bullying, truancy and delinquency will arise. There is also a chance that they will come under the influence of negative peer pressure. For example, a study conducted by the University of alabama found out that around 60% of the children in America started smoking due to the peer pressure around them. So it is evident that without control children are more likely to choose the wrong path.

On the other hand, I believe that certain restrictions are necessary in a child's life. If parents and teachers discipline their children whenever they go wrong, they are most likely to become law-abiding adults or even contributing members of the community. Also this will allow them to absorb certain conventions and codes of conduct, which they can follow themselves. To illustrate, Oxford university researchers say that certain problems in a child's life can be avoided if they are well-bought up during their early childhood.

In conclusion, eventhough some people may argue that children should be allowed to behave freely, I believe that to avoid certain problems and to become a good citizen certain restrictions are necessary.