Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

Many people hold the view that capital punishment is an effective way to guarantee a peaceful society, while others believe that this is a brutal and unacceptable measure and should be demolished from justice system. In this essay, I will discuss the merits and demerits of death penalty and offer my opinion.

On the one hand, it is clearly evident that death sentence brings about a number of benefits. Firstly, capital punishment can act as a deterrent against serious crimes. A person who is having an intention of committing a crime might have to think twice because his actions would not only have detrimental impacts on others and the society but also affect directly on his life. This can be illustrated by an example that numerous studies in the USA show a noticeable drop in murder rate in the months following any execution. Another advantage of this sentence is that it would be able to prevent criminals from re-offending. In other words, the death penalty can ensure that severe offenders will no longer be able to create hovoc for the general population, resulting in a better society where people can live comfortably without the fear of being a victim.

However, capital punishment is a controversial issue because it has several drawbacks. To begin with, I note that this measure infringes human rights. This means that we have no rights to put a human being to death, regardless of how serious the crime is. Furthermore, death penalty may come with a risk of killing innocent people. There are times when justice systems introduce false pieces of evidence against defendants. As a result, they may have to admit their guilt because of external pressure placed on them. A single mistaken execution of an innocent person is enough to ruin the trust of people in the death penalty and in any judicial system that uses it.

From what has been discussed above, we may draw a conclusion that although capital punishment has various upsides, it can also come with a number of downsides. Personally, I am of the opinion that the benefits of this measure are overshadowed by its drawbacks.