Some people are fond of buying new gadgets, phones, or laptops. Is this a good or bad thing? Discuss your opinion.

With the emerging of new technologies, people are more willing to purchase new gadgets. This seems to be a mixed blessing.

There is no doubt that excessively buying new devices can cause people some problems. Firstly, it will result in a budget deficit, making it harder for buyers to pay their rents and monthly expenses, in that new products tend to be expensive, and without a planned saving, buyers might end up without money for essential expenses like phone bills and flat rents. Secondly, most of these devices create an ecosystem for the user that make him buy more products from the manufacturer and create new needs for them. As an example, new mobile phones require a new type of charger cable that the user needs to purchase; this can result in more spending as well.

Financially not beneficial as it can be, having up-to-date devices have many merits. By buying cutting-edge devices, one can catch up with the latest technology and enjoy new inventions. Hardly can a new product has fewer benefits compare with its older version. Other than this, provided one update his device regularly, he can sell his older gadget for a good price, and the sacrificial value of his device becomes low, because as a new product arrives in the market, price of the old version one tends to decrease. Finally, new devices work more smoothly and can be efficient to work with, so in the long run, the upgrading expense would pay off.

In conclusion, buying the latest products excessively can cause budget problems, this, however, can be better for us in the long term, because new is always better.