Some people argue that technological inventions, such as smartphones, are making people socially less interactive. Discuss both views.

Technological developments and their impact on society are one of the most controversial topics in the present day. There are people that are certain that technologies make us more isolated from the rest of the world. Others oppose by saying that technological progress brings everyone together. The following essay takes a look at both sides of the argument.

On the one hand, mobile phone users tend to spend more time on their phones, rather than having a face-to-face conversation with their family or friends. This may have a negative impact on users real-life relationships and possibly lead to breakups. Another point to be considered is that more and more children own a smartphone nowadays. Thus, preferring it to playing outside with their peers. Consequently, this may lead to a lack of social and physical activity.

On the other hand, many would argue that due to modern days’ technological advantage people are getting closer. For instance, with a help of the Internet geographical location is no longer an issue in communication. It has become easier to get in touch with someone who is on the other side of the globe. In addition, communicating with others via online messengers is both faster and cheaper, compared to older ways, such as sending a letter or a telegram. Furthermore, it is worth noticing that the Internet and smartphones make widen people’s social networks. As social media platforms allow users to join communities and make new connections. Therefore, making people more socially active.

In the final analysis, while technologies may affect negatively on a relationships between people, its benefit is undeniable.