Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes serious pollution ans uses up the world's fuel resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is irrefutable that not only airplanes and other air vehicles consume a tremendous amount of energy but also cause serious environmental pollution, therefore they should be restricted. In my opinion, limiting air travel might alleviate pollution but would lead to other problems.

At the time that human beings all around the world concern about the decreasing level of fossil fuels and environmental contamination, it right to take action to protect the earth. However, to simply discourage flights is not the answer. International tourism has been becoming the backbone of many economies across the world. Many nations earned from tourism, it creates huge employment opportunities. A host of businesses and restaurants depend on foreign visitors. Besides, by traveling globally, people could discover other languages and customs, leading to the intersection between cultures. Thus, if we discourage international tourism, it would create even more severe problems, leading to the collapse of prosperity and unemployment.

Besides, restricting air travel is an impractical solution, it true that airplanes consume oil, but other transport such as cars also causing pollutions and using fuel. Therefore, discouraging private cars and encouraging residents to use public transports could help save the environment in a greater way. By adopting this approach, not only could governments maintain the property of economies, but also create mobility and convenience in traveling for citizens without contaminating the surroundings. Furthermore, up-to-date technology could be used to produce environmentally friendly and fuel-efficient engines.

In a nutshell, I believe that instead of restricting air travel, we should manage more effective measures to tackle environmental issues without deteriorating the economy.