Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Independence is one of the most important qualities which significantly affect the development of an individual. As a result, many parents let their children make their own choices in everyday matters. Many people suggest that this will only create selfish individuals caring about their own needs. However, others argue that they should have certain control over important things which affect them. This essay will look into both sides of the argument and finally present my viewpoint.

To begin with, children who are able to choose the things they like freely have a tendency to become selfish if not carefully guided. In simpler terms, their only priority is to fulfill their needs and demands, not how to properly balance the personal desires of everyone in a group. This is more likely to happen in rich families, in which kids have the freedom to buy and eat whatever they want. As a consequence, when growing up, all they care about is to make themselves satisfied with luxurious stuff, rather than paying attention to anyone else.

On the other hand, making children decide important matters on their own is of great necessity, especially in the long run. Should children control decisive matters from an early age, they will learn from their mistakes and realize the importance of responsibility. Consequently, they will understand that they have to learn how to tackle personal issues effectively, and any negative consequences created by wrong decisions will exert a negative impact on themselves. Furthermore, this kind of upbringing has a tendency to make children more decisive and confident, and in the future, they will be independent enough to consider their own situation and make the most proper decisions.

To sum up, children should definitely learn how to make their own choices in both everyday matters and important ones which may significantly influence their lives, with sufficient guidance from their parents to ensure they develop in the right way. Those who learn such a useful skill in early stages of life are likely to be more successful in the future, on the grounds that they can fully able control their personal problems.