Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters ( such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

It is widely argued that letting the children make their own decisions in trivial matters such as food and clothes results in a society of people who are selfish, whereas some people opine that it bolsters the decision making skill of each child, when they decide about the matter that affects them. This essay discusses both the views before drawing concrete decisions.

On the one hand, the juvenile who chooses their own choices in food and entertainment, they will only think of the things they like. As a result, they might grow up to be more adamant about choices which may be harmful to others. For example, wearing a T-shirt with slogans that might offend other people or watching a program which contains vulgar words. In a recent survey conducted by the "Children Now" magazine reveals that 80% of the young population in United Kingdom choose to watch entertainment shows that contains violence and vulgarity and 60% of them exhibits hostile behaviour towards others.

On the other hand, decision making is a skill which should be imbibed by the children at the early stages of their life. In other words, when a child knows what it wants and the consequences of it, it will strengthen their potential and knowledge. If they make decisions about the things that matters to them, it will have a positive impact on the, as they are responsible for their actions. For instance, a child choosing its career path at an early stage will motivate himself towards attaining the goal. To illustrate this, the famous actor, Mark Luther mentions in his book that the intention he made when he was a young child is what made him a successful actor today.

In conclusion, children should be allowed to make choices without affecting other people. In my opinion, decision making skill ameliorates the responsibility and knowledge among them, however, it should not harm the peace of another individual.