Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them

There is belief that the allowing children to take their own decisions on matters such as food, clothes and entertainment may result in selfish individuals in the society whereas others think it’s their right to make decision on such matters. In my opinion, the children should be allowed to decide on the fundamental matters of their life but I also believe that children should attain minimum age before allowing them to take these decisions.

On one hand, children who are given more privileges in the early ages do become choosy and selfish in nature. Firstly, opportunities to choose necessities such as food may be detrimental to child health as they often prefer the fast foods which are high in carbohydrates and fats. Children having very less knowledge on health, always choose unhealthy food and when not given their demands may cause tantrums. Secondly, children selecting their own clothes tend to select more trendy, fashionable and costly clothes which may create financial problem for parents. Research also indicates that children who are given these types of facilities in early ages have high risk of acquiring selfishness, tantrums and bullying personalities.

On the hand, the children who are given opportunities in later ages become independent and creative in decision making abilities surpassing all the cons which are described in above paragraph. Secondly, youngsters who are still depending on the parents for these decisions tend to be shy and timid. Youth who have knowledge on the society and dealings of day to day life, may choose wisely. For instance, youngsters who are sensitive to the feelings of the parents and society, always take decisions using intelligence and wisdom. Presently, youth are taking decisions on food based on their studies.

In conclusion, the youth who have gained the knowledge, wisdom from the teachers, parents and society should always have the opportunity for deciding their life situations.