Some people believe that capital punishment should never be used. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

The question of capital punishment being essential is considered to be more urgent than ever at present. From my perspective, the issue is rather controversial and it is reasonable to partly agree with the statement of necessity of capital punishment.

On the one hand, death penalty can be regarded as an appropriate action in particular cases. Firstly, there is a common belief that a person who broke the law deserves capital punishment for merciless murders and other hard crimes, as he or she took the other person’s life. Secondly, introduction of death penalty can result in sharp decrease of criminal activity in general, asdeprivation of life, which is a serious point, should make criminals think over their intentions an stop them from breaking the law. Finally, capital punishment can influence greatly economics of a particular country, since expenses concerning providing criminals in prison with food will be reduced significantly.

But on the other hand, capital punishment is considered by many people to be a useless and unreasonable action. To begin with, implementation of death penalty definitely cannot be regarded as a tolerant action, as each person in our society is considered to be free. And then, one of the most reasonable statements against capital punishment is a possibility of a mistake in judgement. Thus, misjudgment can lead to unfair life deprivation of a person, who is not guilty in committing a crime.

To conclude, introduction of death penalty is a controversial and difficult question. Capital punishment is frequently used in some countries and strictlyprohibitedin others, therefore, the issue of its necessity will not be solved in the nearest future.