Some people believe that a college or a university education should be available to all students. Others believe that higher education should be available only to good students. Discuss these views. Which view do you agree with? Explain why?

There is no doubt that nowadays there are a great number of different ways to get knowledge. However, some people believe that higher education should be available only to successful students while others are sure that access to colleges and universities should be provided to everybody, so I am going to discuss these views in the following essay.

Firstly, I think that free education in universities can lead to several social problems. The most obvious one, is that there will be an enormous amount of newcomers every year. For teachers it means that they will have to do plenty of work while for students there will be a small chance to answer or take part in a conversation. As a result, the quality of education will be poor, so students won’t be able to become good specialists in the future. In addition, the government will be supposed to spend most of the money on education field to pay salaries and, consequently, serious problems in other fields such as healthcare may appear. Despite these drawbacks, this way can provide opportunities for students from rural areas to get vital knowledge about future specialities.

Secondly, The other method will be able to push science to higher results. In case when only good students will be able to study at universities, a high quality of knowledge can be provided. Moreover, this way implies that teens will be interested in their major fields, so a lot of detailed and accurate researches will be done at the end of education. What is more, a competitive aspect of life will be very important, because it teaches other individuals how to do their work good and overcome possible difficulties. Thus, young specialists with vital knowledge will be able to rile factories and organise a work process very effectively, so great outcomes will be provided.

To draw the conclusion, I am of the opinion that higher education should be provided for good students, because in long-term perspective it will allow to build a highly developed society.