Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Today a great number of people think that the extended prison penalty is the most prime way to control unlawful activity. Whereas, others believe that there are many different ways to deplete crime. As far as I am concerned, I totally believe that a strict law can only bring change. Both the agendas are discussed below in the coming paragraphs.

On the first hand, As the world is getting developed in terms of everything, the crime rates are also started increasing. Nowadays, crimes such as illegal drug activities or Rape cases are occurring more often than they used to be. So, to counter the same the authorities will have to come up with new and harsh punishments to create fear amongst the lawbreakers. A prolonged jail sentence can break any individual from inside and with that, everybody will think twice before committing any nonsense activity. For example, China has a very strict policy with respect to punishments; therefore, the rate of crimes in china is significantly low as compared to other countries.

On the other hand, the penalizing authorities now use a plethora of ideas to overcome ever-increasing crime rates. To regulate the growing numbers in jails, crimes like drug abuse are now dealt with in rehabilitation centers. If the action of the offender is not severe then the matter is tried to resolve without involving a prison sentence. The benefit of such practice is to generate a mindset inside the brain of criminals that the thing they have done has very dangerous consciousness so that they will think before repeating the same.

To conclude, I would say that you cant reduce the rate of offenses by altering the penalization techniques. The government should take the initiative to extend its source of information and try to stop any faulty action before it is committed.