Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some hobbies are relatively easy, while others present of more challenge. In my view, I would contend that both types of hobbies can be enjoyable, whereas, a more challenging hobby sometimes indeed can gain more pleasure.

To begin with, how much enjoyment a hobby brings depends on every individual. Interest, talent and desire included are the reasons why a person's hobbies are cultivated. Take bungee-jumping for an example, to whom pursue speed and challenge, it would be their top choice when enjoying themselves. On the contrary, to whom are in the fear of height might never try to join this activity considering their situation. Furthermore, people who are introverted might find sketching indoors is much joyful rather than hanging out with a group of people.

On the other hand, it is true sometimes that a more difficult hobby can bring more excitement, which usually needs more time, skills and knowledge to be acquired. Although at first people might feel frustrated, after years of practicing, the sense of achievement would also be greater. For instance, when I first started learning to sketch, not only does the object need to be carefully observed, but also the light casting on the object and the shadow it caused. Now I finally am competent at this skill and when seeing my drawings, my friends are always in awe. To me, it is the hardworks paid back makes me feel such a strong accomplishment. And the effect caused is greater than any other hobby.

By way of conclusion, there is no need to join challenging activity to gain a sense of enjoyment. Simple activity can have the same effect as difficult one. Nevertheless, the achievement gained after practicing for a long time may be more appealing to people.