Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the widespread usage of the Internet, online courses are becoming a common feature of university education. Although there are some drawbacks of remote courses, I intend to argue that there are far more benefits.

On the one hand, one of the drawback of having courses online is that students lack the opportunity to interact with professors directly. Written forms of communication is the only solution, which may lead to ineffective interaction. For instance, students may fail to describe their questions clearly when it comes to complicated content. Furthermore, it takes time to reply emails back and forth. Discussion cannot be made instantly due to the fact that they are in the different time zones. Another drawback would be lacking the support from classmates. Because students generally are in different countries, there is no possibility for them to work on group projects. Without the stimulation from their peers, their potentials are less likely to be inspired.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned disadvantages, I believe they can be outweighed by the advantages. Firstly, online courses provides students flexibility to arrange their time. Take businessmen for example, if they intend to make good use of their spare time and improve themselves, they can attend these online courses and get another diploma. Secondly, the tuition fees can be reduced, while the revenue of universities will increase as more students can be accepted. Finally, students can absorb the materials and the knowledge taught in their own pace. Besides, they can always resume the videos to watch again, which in my opinion is the main benefit of remote courses.

By way of conclusion, in spite of the not negligible drawbacks, I would contend that the overall development is positive.