Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is said that the advantage in the 21st century is the overwhelming number of choices presented us. I completely agree with this statement and I believe the Internet and globalization should own the honor.

To begin with, the Internet makes us live in an information explosion era. There are countless websites offering entertainment, news, videos, and music streaming, many of which are free in order to rival in the competitive online world. Admittedly, with an abundance of media, we might be led to confusion. Take online streaming platforms for example, viewers have to make a decision between Netflix, Fox +, HBO, etc, which include various series and movies. It is common that people have no idea which platform they should subscribe. Furthermore, people nowadays do not need to subscribe the service of newspaper and still can catch up events throughout the world everyday. Nevertheless, with easy access to the Internet, there are hundreds of unapproved information online. People will easily be brainwashed or tricked without even notice it.

Alongside the influence of the Internet, globalisasion has made the world smaller. One element that influences us the most is international trade. In the past, people mainly consumed goods produced from their own land, only few people could enjoy the imported products. Whereas, the appearance of economic zones and the regulation about zero tariffs makes the circulation of goods without boundaries. Choices of products have therefore increased and caused people to be faced with dilemma. There is even a prevalent phrase in Taiwan called the obstacle of choosing, meaning the options left for people are far too much to bear.

By way of conclusion, with the advance of the Internet and globalisation, there are indeed too many options for people to decide.