More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

Cities are often seen as places full of opportunity and hopes; however, urban life can sometimes be challenging. From my perspective, governments could do more to improve the life in metropolis.

To begin with, the main problem of holding decisions of moving to cities is the high living cost people have to afford. Residents there have to pay much higher on housing, transportation, and groceries. Another issue that the authority has to tackle with is the high crime rate. Robbery and theft happen more often in cities than in rural areas. Besides, cities are also the breeding ground for gangsters and drug dealers. For instance, according to the report of crime rate in 2018 in Taiwan, data have been shown that in comparison with countryside, the crime rate is much higher in Taipei, which is the capital city in Taiwan.

Nevertheless, confronted by these problems, there are various steps governments can do to address the them. Firstly, more social housing can be constructed for those economically marginalized groups such as young generation and the elderly in particular. Lower rents can reduce parts of the heavy burden laid on their shoulders. Secondly, travel tickets can be introduced to limit the transport costs. Take Taipei city for example, the introduction of this ticket help a vast number of commuters cut down their budget living in Taipei. Finally, governments and the police need to cooperate to crack down on crimes for protecting citizens.

To capitulate, although an increasing number of people long for moving to cities, there are various of drawbacks make people hesitated. The authority can take some steps to tackle these problems and bring people a better and safer life.