As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Businesses have always sought to make profits; meanwhile, the consciousness of the social obligations have increased these years. I completely agree with the idea that companies not only need to make money, but their responsibilities towards the public are also of crucial importance.

Admittedly, corporations have to make profits in order to survive in a competitive market. Furthermore, workers rely on the job opportunities corporations released to support their families and cover all kinds of expenses. With these burdens on shoulders, the major mission of companies should be to earn as much as profits they can. If a company fail to maintain their business, pay all the debts they borrowed or pay salaries to their employees, any concerns about social responsibility would be irrelevant. In other words, the social obligation is indeed essential, but companies can only make a positive contribution to society, if they are in good financial situation.

Having achieved the goal of making profits, corporations have a more important role to play in society. In my opinion, the major responsibility they have to achieve is to treat the environment well. For instance, with the widespread usage of the Internet, they can build a paperless office and reduce the number of trees cut down annually. Besides, the frequency of air-conditioning should also be limited in order to mitigate the potential possibility of exacerbating the climate change happened throughout the world. Finally, they should build up foundations and distribute fellowship to those in need.

By way of conclusion, it is necessary for companies to make money to survive in their business. Whereas, after achieving their goal to some extent, they should consider how to give back what they have obtained from society.