Nowadays it is easy to apply for and be given a credit card However some people experience problems when they are not be able to pay their debts back In your opinion do the advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages

Nowadays, the threshold of applying for credit card has been reduced; therefore, almost everyone can receive one credit card. The convenience of paying credit card is undeniable; whereas, the risk of building high debts is also increasing. Personally, I believe there are more benefits of owning a credit card, only if people arrange their expenses carefully.

To begin with, credit card can be a useful helper. When people plan carefully their expenses and avoid impulsive consume. Firstly, the main advantage of paying by credit card is that people do not need to carry a vast sum of money around when buying expensive products. Furthermore, the function of delay payment also benefits a large sum of people. For instance, my family bought three air-conditioner lately which costs over 100,000 NTD in total. With credit card, not only did we get cash feedback, but also allowed us to pay the amount in 6 months separately. Secondly, before buying anything, do the bookkeeping in advanced. Do not buy anything without urgent needs. In this case, the situation of building high debts can be avoided.

Nevertheless, when people fail to control their desires, the situation along with credit card may go out of control relatively easy. For example, according to an interview on BBC last week, an accountant lost nearly 100,000 pound within just two days, because she used credit card to pay the lost sum from gambling. She has five credit cards, and when the sum had reached the highest payment limit, she just maximized them without second thought. Similarly, there are an increasing number of people carry a large burden on their shoulders through buying various products without planning beforehand. These impulsive payment often leads to a huge amount of debts, and actually can be prevented with rational planning.

By way of conclusion, with rational control, credit card can be a nice helper rather than a nightmare.