Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Along with the development of modern world, cars are becoming a not replaceable mean of transporting. However, the pollution problems come with the vehicles are influencing our air quality as well. The public argued that raising the price of petrol to reduce the frequency people drive cars would be a perfect solution; whereas, I do not completely agree with this argument.

Admittedly, the soaring price of petrol would stop people from driving cars, but it is not a fundamental solution and people may set up a striking group to protest the outrage price. People nowadays often do not work or study near where they live and it often needs to take at least two hours of driving to reach their destination. Furthermore, some shopping malls are located in the remote area in order to lower the cost of operational expenses such as rent. In this case, driving has becoming a mean of crucial importance to have more motility. Nevertheless, the exhaust produced by vehicles within this procedure cannot be neglected.

To solve pollution problems effectively and avoid irritating people, one of the best ways is to invest in electric vehicles. Governments could cooperate with cars manufactures by reducing the price of them to speed up the widespread of this kind of cars. Cutting the actual usage of petrol is a better way than controlling the price irrationally. Another way which can only mitigate pollution problems slightly would be constructing a well-designed transport system. By connecting faraway places with transportation, the number of cars can be reduced effectively because a large number of people used to drive are taking buses or subways together. Take my hometown Taipei for example, commuters can reach any corner they want by taking buses and subways. It not only helps to save the cost of commuting, but also improves air quality in city.