Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of whether or not governments should preserve wild animals has grown in importance over the past few decades. Some people assert that the budget should be invested on the welfare of humans rather than on the protection of wildlife in the 21st century. I would contend that the necessity of protecting them cannot be overlooked.

To begin with, there is no doubt that wild animals have the right to exist. It is irrational to destroy their habitat which may lead to their extinction, only for accommodating more humans. In the past, humans logged, killed and occupied the territory which dominated by wild creatures for spreading our land and earn more space. Nonetheless, in the 21st century, most of the developments have almost completed. There is no need to sacrifice the very right of the existence of other creatures because they are also the vital part of our planet.

Furthermore, the protection of these creatures and their territory can bring the maintaining of the ecological system. These animals play a crucial role in food chain. Any disruption on food chain has a detrimental impact on human living. For instance, dogs fed by farmers can prevent crops from destroying by crows. Moreover, vegetation can absorb carbon dioxide and release fresh oxygen back into the air which is of extreme importance to stabilize the climate on Earth.

By way of conclusion, humans are not predominant on this planet, wildlife should also entitle the right to exist and the destruction of natural habitats may only do harm to humans.