Some people believe that hosting international sports events is good for the country while some people think it is bad Discuss both these views and state your opinion

International sports events have been common in recent decades. Despite the drawback of this, I believe this development is more beneficial. This essay will shed light on both sides of the argument and present my preference.

On the one hand, the primary disadvantage is the high investment in the preparation process. This means that host countries should allocate their resources to newly built facilities, including stadiums and indoor athletic areas, to meet world-class standards. Besides, accommodations must be set up to cater for thousands of professional athletes and journalists worldwide. Japan, for instance, had spent nearly 15 billion dollars preparing and operating the Olympic Tokyo 2020 amid the surge of the highly transmissible Delta variant.

On the other hand, I believe the drawback mentioned above pale in comparison with the benefits of hosting an overseas sports competition. The first one is that hosting countries have incredible chances to promote their profiles with the rest of the world. Thanks to technological advances, the latest news of international sports events will be updated up to the minute on social media platforms like Tiktok by athletes and journalists. Therefore, the countries can promote their beautiful images globally, boosting the tourism industry. Moreover, preparation for international sports events allows host nations to deal with the unemployment rate because thousands of builders are employed to construct facilities to serve these events.

In conclusion, I believe that despite the aforementioned drawback, becoming a host nation of an overseas sports event is more beneficial overall.