Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages higher level of violence in that society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The gun ownership of policemen is a controversial problem among community because some people argue that it may lead to the increase of violence in the society. I strongly disagree with this opinion and I believe that policemen should be equipped guns to protecting citizens and themselves as well.

The first reason I support the gun ownership of police force is that the gun is essential for a policeman to handle with criminals in emergency situations. In fact, some criminals who are so dangerous, strong and difficult to handle will trouble the policemen. Many criminals illegally use weapons especially the gun. Moreover, the guns given to the policemen is restricted usage, which is used just for specific situations and the policemen have to take responsibility for this property. Thus, the violence is not likely to occur when the police force follows the regulations of gun utilization.

Secondly, the threat of a gun can deter criminals not to commit crimes and protect the public. The police officers can shoot an escaping criminal who poses a serious danger to the public. In addition, if a criminal observes that a police has no weapon which is able to arrest him from fleeing, he will not afraid of crime. For instance, a robber might be scared of a policeman carrying gun can shoot him from far distance so that the robbery does not occur.

To sum up, although there are many arguments of the policeman with guns will cause violence, I strongly support the gun ownership of police force. The gun would be necessary for the police to protect themselves and the civilians.