Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Over the past few decades, the enthusiasm for governments to host significant sports events has surged dramatically. Many commentators argue that it is an ideal opportunity to demonstrate their cultural heritage and economic power during the events, while others think governments should spend the budget on other industries. In this essay, I shall examine both of the above views can hold water according to the different situation of countries.

To begin with, it is not a waste of money for rich countries like the USA, Britain and Australia to show their national qualities by holding big sporting events. Due to the high level of development in these countries, governments possess a huge amount of money on events like the Olympics without seriously diminishing their national income. In addition, local residents can benefit from the facilities like stadiums and sportsground because normally those places are open to everyone after events.

On the other hand, it is actually a large financial burden for some developing countries to host a fantastic sporting event. This is because there are more areas, such as education, food safety, infrastructure, etc., need money from the government in these countries. Governments should put priority in improving the living qualities of people when they make the national budget because tax income is from people and should be spent for people. It is therefore clear that governments of poor countries would use their money more carefully and try not to waste on expensive events hosting.

In conclusion, every country has a different condition and the government should take into considerations when they make a decision.