Some people believe that the internet will replace traditional books in the future. Do you believe this would be a positive or negative development?

There is no doubt that internet has revolutionarized our lives. It is believed by a few individuals that, internet will be a feasible replacement of classical books in times to come. In my opinion, this is a positive change and all of us should welcome it.

To begin with, traditional texts and litratures are very informative for us. They enable us to know about our culture, traditions and successful practices to lead a pleasant life. For example, the ancient sacred text of hindu mythology, the vedas, are the rule books for leading life with hindu believes. However, since these sacred texts were written centuries ago, there is a great and mammoth responsibility on the shoulders of competent authorities to protect and archive them in their physical format. This process claims for a considerable amount of manpower and financial resources. Besides that, even if these books are thoroughly protected, reading them in their original format, will not be easy for the masses, as the more these texts will be accessed by readers the more decay it can cause to such valuable litratures.

Nevertheless, with advent of internet in day to day life, now it is more convenient to protect, archive and access such manuscripts online. For instance, many countries have already created their national digital archives, where thousands of books from a number of sources have already been converted in digital format and made available for common people to read. Although, there is a minor caution over digitalization of readable material, that is the potential of manipulation that might be done while making digital copies of such texts. This has to be strictly regulated, in order to increase the acceptance of digital libraries.

In conclusion, I believe that electronic libraries will significantly influence the world of literature in a positive way, yet there is a need of strict quality and content control, in order to avoid dispersion of manipulated and inappropriate content to the public.