Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Every person undergoes trials and tribulations in life and when such difficult situations present themselves, they often wonder as to what is the best path ahead? Would accepting the given circumstance bring them peace or should they march to fight a battle to attain glory? In this essay I will discuss both these views.

Life is unpredictable and people face unpleasant circumstances at various junctures like unhappy relationships or being stuck in jobs that either aren’t professionally satisfying or do not pay the market rate. Such adverse situations dishearten people and they begin to question their destiny. Some feel that acceptance is the path to peace. They feel that they need to accept what life has thrown towards them, as there is no assurance of happiness or success in whatever they may try to change. They fear that they might get themselves into worse situations. An example would be an undereducated guy continuing to work in a dead-end job as he feels there is nothing he can do about it.

On the contrary, there are others who are thrilled by challenges. They work to decipher the source of the problem and are willing to take steps to change the status quo. They believe that they can persevere and write their own destiny. My friend is such a person. She would study overnight while continuing to work a day job so that she could get into a better career and life.

In my opinion, acceptance is just the first step. I completely believe in the proverb- When life throws lemons, make lemonade.